Baildon Town Council

Serving the people of Baildon

Welcome to Baildon

Clerk: Louanna Winch
Baildon Library, Hallcliffe
Baildon, Shipley, West
Yorkshire BD17 6ND

Who we are & what we do

Baildon Town Council consists of 12 councillors who serve for a four year term. All Councillors are voluntary and receive no payment whatsoever. Cllr Joe Ashton is the current Chair of the Council and Cllr Alan Clubb is the Vice-Chair. The Council Office is located in Baildon Library, on the Mezzanine floor, Hallcliffe, Baildon BD17 6ND.

Council Meetings - see the diary of meetings for more information.

For further information relating to the services offered by the Town Council please contact the Town Clerk who will be happy to give advice and assistance.

Town Council Elections

The next scheduled election of the Full Council, will take place in May 2023. In the event of a Councillor resigning from their post before that date, a member may be co- opted or elected.


Our councillors are elected or co-opted, if you would like to become a councillor or find out more about what they do then please see election details above

Map of the Ward Boundaries


There are currently seven committees which carry out the work of Baildon Town Council. The Chair and Vice Chair of the Council are ex-officio members of all Committees. All committees are authorised to have members of the community who advise and provide expertise, these are called co-opted non-voting members.

All meetings are open to the public, except in a number of limited cases where the press and public have to be excluded for reasons of confidentiality.

The following committee terms of reference, which will explain what the committee and its members do, can be found in the documents section.

  • Governance Committee
  • Community Committee
  • Economy Committee
  • Environment Committee
  • Planning Committee
  • Staffing Sub Committee

Committee Members

The current committee membership is as follows:

Governance Committee - Cllr J Ashton, Cllr A Clubb, Cllr G Dixon, Cllr J Kean

Planning Committee - Cllr A Clubb (chair), Cllr J Ashton, Cllr M Town, Cllr V Christensen

Environment Committee - Cllr A Clubb (chair), Cllr G Dixon, Cllr J Ashton, Cllr J Kean, Cllr D Robertshaw

Economy Committee - Cllr G Dixon (chair), Cllr S Place, Cllr V Christensen, Cllr A Dooley, Cllr P Sharkey

Community Committee - Cllr J Kean (chair), Cllr T Sutton, Cllr S Place, Cllr A Dooley, Cllr D Robertshaw, Cllr M Town

Staffing Committee - Cllr J Ashton, Cllr A Clubb, Cllr G Dixon, Cllr J Kean

Members Code of Conduct

Baildon Town Council Standing Orders

  • Standing Orders 11 03 19 (Word Document, 99 Kb)

    The approved Standing Orders approved at the Full Council meeting dated 11th March 2019.

Our Staff

As well as the councillors, Baildon Town Council is supported by one full time Town Clerk and five part time members of staff.

Louanna Winch

Louanna Winch

Town Clerk

I joined Baildon Town Council in March 2017 as their Town Clerk, having previously worked for the Home Office in London and for West Yorkshire Police.

I was delighted to be appointed as the new Town Clerk for Baildon, and have enjoyed my first year getting to know the residents and understanding the challenges we have to face in the community, including the devolution of services from BDMC. I am committed to serve the residents and local Councillors of Baildon in their future endeavors.

I am married with two children, two step children and three Grandchildren, and I enjoy painting, sewing, and gardening.

01274 593169
07938 062814
Gary Stevenson

Gary Stevenson

Responsibe Financial Officer

I am the council's 'Responsible Financial Officer', which sounds scary, but just means I make sure the finances are in order. I am part time and generally work on Thursday and Friday mornings.

I'm a qualified accountant and although I grew up in Baildon, attending Tong Park Primary School, I now live in Eldwick with my wife Jane and children.

I'm an active member of Baildon Golf Club and enjoy walking in both the Dales and the Lake District.

01274 593169

Rachel Gallagher

Volunteers Co-ordinator

I joined Baildon Town Council as Library Volunteer Coordinator in February 2017. My role is to recruit and train a team of volunteers who will support our experienced librarians to keep the library part of daily life in Baildon.

When I'm not at work, I live in Bingley with my husband and daughter and I enjoy camping, walking, sewing, drinking coffee (not all at the same time) and going on holiday to far flung parts of the world.

07938 063061
Mark Scrimshaw

Mark Scrimshaw

Environmental Warden

My role is to be out and about looking for any problems or areas for improvement in the local environment. If you spot something which needs action, please tell me!

My main interests are wildlife and the outdoors - I also work for a charity which introduces city children to the countryside. This involves taking groups of primary school children to farms, historic sites and areas rich in nature, opening their eyes to a world many of them have never experienced.

07729 800525
Richard White

Richard White

Bracken Hall Manager

I am the manager at Bracken Hall and have recently returned to Baildon after many years away, firstly studying in Wales, and then working on an environmental course at a university in South Africa.

I have known the Centre since its first incarnation, when it was run as a private business, and then through its Bradford Council days. I'm getting to know it all over again, and the many people involved in saving it, and operating it today.

07938 063062

Ruth Logan

Office Assistant

I am the part time Office Assistant, working usually each morning between 9.30 am to 12.30pm, Monday to Friday (hours vary).

I am a Baildon resident and I am married with two teenage children who attend local schools.

01274 593169